What Is a General Dentist and Specialist Dentist – Info

The American Dental Association (ADA) recognises nine (9) dental specialties. The ADA has 155,000 members. After graduating from dentistry school, an authorised Dental Specialist completed advanced training. The ADA Council on Dental Education must recognise and accredit the specialist training programme at an approved institution. Most states require a Dental Specialist to practise only in their field. A Dental Specialist with specialised training can choose to practise General Dentistry. This isn’t a declared specialist whose expertise is restricted to a single field. A general dentist can do any dental procedure for which they are qualified and confident. A general dentist who has received the requisite training can perform all of the speciality areas of dentistry. The Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) was created with the backing of the American Dental Association (ADA).Do you want to learn more? Visit NuSmyle Dental – Logan Dentist .

The AGD has been serving the needs and interests of general dentists since 1952. Through recognised continuing dental education, the AGD promotes public oral health and encourages general dentist expertise. The AGD assists general dentists in providing better care to the public. This is why 35,000 general dentists are members, despite the fact that they must participate in recognised continuing education to keep their membership.

The nine (legitimate) specialisations include:

  1. Endodontics

Oral Pathology is number two.

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is number three.

Orthodontics is a fourth option.

  1. Children’s Dentistry
  2. Periodontics is the study of teeth and gums.

Prosthodontics is a field of dentistry that deals with teeth.

  1. Dentistry for Public Health

Oral Radiology & Imaging (No. 9)

Licensed dentists who claim to be specialists but have not completed an accredited training programme in one of the dental specialties at an approved institution could be defrauding the public. Most state Dental Practice Acts prohibit dentists from claiming to be an expert in a non-accredited or non-recognized “specialty.” The nine (9) ADA-approved specialisations are usually the only ones that state licencing boards allow, and they employ the ADA accreditation system. Dentists who advertise and hold themselves out to the public as a non-recognized/non-accredited “specialist” without disclosing to the public that they are not a specialist and are only providing services in that non-recognized/non-accredited specialty area of general dentistry risk being disciplined and possibly losing their dental licence in that state. This is done to protect the general public from unethical practitioners.